Governance and Leadership

World Nuclear Association Members appoint the Director General and elect a Board of Management.

The World Nuclear Association's Director General is Agneta Rising. The Chair of the Board is Helmut Engelbrecht.

Our Board of Management fulfils all statutory duties pertaining to the organisation's governance, sets policies and strategic objectives acting on proposals from the Director General.

To ensure balance among the elected members of the Board, each of the three categories of institutional membership - supplier, generator and general - must be represented by at least two members. In addition, the Board has three distinguished honorary members.

To facilitate the Board's representation of the entire institutional membership, each Board member performs liaison with a certain portion of the membership in a way designed to give every member a direct channel to the Board. 

Board members act as Mentors for the various Working Groups. This enables the Board to monitor the activities of the Working Groups and to shape their overall agenda.

The Board convenes as required, normally at least twice a year, and Board members communicate regularly with the  secretariat.

The Board currently has two sub-committees: 

  •  The Governance & Nominations sub-committee deals with Director General and Senior Staff succession planning, and board nominations. It also maintains oversight on governance. The sub-committee reports directly to the Chair and comprises seven Board members serving a two-year term.
  •  The Audit and Finance sub-committee carries out a regular review of the financial health of the World Nuclear Association, monitors actual performance against forecast budget, assesses fee levels and guidelines, and holds in-depth dialogue with the appointed Auditor during the preparation of the annual accounts. This sub-committee reports directly to the Chairand comprises up to three members, serving up to two years from appointment. 

The Board of Management as following the Board meeting of 25 April 2017 is shown below. 

Helmut Engelbrecht Helmut Engelbrecht
World Nuclear Association Chairman
Senior Advisor to Urenco

Kirill Komarov Kirill Komarov
World Nuclear Association Vice Chairman
First Deputy Director General
Clark Beyer
Managing Director, Uranium
Rio Tinto
George Borovas
Shearman & Sterling


Guillaume Dureau
Senior Executive Vice President, Customer, Strategy, Innovation and R&D
Tim Gitzel Tim Gitzel
President & CEO

Leonam dos Santos Guimarães
Director for Planning, Management and Environment
Mingang Huang Mingang Huang
Chief Economic Officer

Jonathan Isted
Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer

Denis Lépée
Senior Vice President – Head of Nuclear Fuel Division

Micheal Pacilio Michael Pacilio
Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer
Exelon Generation
Masatoshi Sakaguchi Masatoshi Sakaguchi
Executive Vice President
Chubu Electric Power Co

Torbjorn Wahlborg
Senior Executive Vice President

Jay Wileman Jay Wileman
President & CEO
GE Hitachi Nuclear Energy (GEH)  
Hiromichi Yoshinaga Hiromichi Yoshinaga
Operating Officer
Mitsui & Co., Ltd 
Liudmila Zalimskaya, DG, Techsnabexport Liudmila Zalimskaya
Director General
Dongshan Zheng
Senior Vice President
Mingguang Zheng Mingguang Zheng
Senior Vice President




Honorary Board Members

Hans Blix Hans Blix
Director General-Emeritus
International Atomic Energy Agency  
Gerald Grandey Gerald Grandey
Former CEO, Cameco
Chairman-Emeritus, WNA
Peter Prozesky Peter Prozesky


Related information

Director General Agneta Rising

You may also be interested in